Skip to product information
1 of 1

"1990" CD

"1990" CD

Regular price $11.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $11.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


When several albums of Daniel Johnston's homemade recordings appeared in the late '80s (including the wonderful YIP/JUMP MUSIC), it created a significant buzz in music circles. Studio owner Mark Kramer was quickly on the scene, bringing Johnston to his own Shimmy-Disc label for this fine album. 1990 is a collection of extremely polished and staggeringly honest odes to love, comic book heroes, and music. 

Steve Shelley and Lee Ranaldo of Sonic Youth accompany Johnston on "Spirit World Rising," but most of the set finds Johnston alone at the piano or guitar. His version of Lennon and McCartney's "Got To Get You Into My Life" has never been covered with this degree of conviction, streamlined down to its essential rhythmic core.

1 Devil Town
2 Spirit World Rising
3 Held The Hand
4 Lord Give Me Hope
5 Some Things Last A Long Time
6 Tears Stupid Tears
7 Don't Play Cards With Satan
8 True Love Will Find You In The End
9 Got To Get You Into My Life
10 Careless Soul
11 Funeral Home
12 Softly And Tenderly

13 Devil Town (demo)
14 Spirit World Rising (demo)
15 Held the Hand (demo)
16 Tears Stupid Tears (demo)
17 Don't Play Cards With Satan (demo)

Produced & Engineered by Kramer
Recorded at Noise New York (April 1988)


  • Steve Shelly (drums) on "Spirit World Rising"
  • Lee Ranaldo (guitar) on "Spirit World Rising"
  • Kramer (piano, bass, tape loops, backing vocals) on "Some Things Last a Long Time"
View full details